Annual recurring revenue is an important metric for any business. Measures an organization’s net revenue on an annual basis, taking into account the effects of currency fluctuations and price fluctuations.
Because ARR is a key measure of profitability performance, it is important to understand how ARR is calculated and the factors that influence it. In this post, we will take a look at how ARR works and why it is important to you as a business owner.
What is Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR)?
Its main function is to track the growth of an organization over time. ARR tracks the total amount generated by a business over a period of three years, regardless of when it was created. This metric also tracks how profitable your business has been, taking into account all costs associated with generating revenue.
ARR helps show how well a company is performing financially by measuring annual revenue from all sources. This allows you to evaluate your success against other companies in your industry and benchmark your performance over time.
Why is ARR important?
ARR is an important metric for any business that measures an organization’s net revenue each year. ARR is more valuable than looking at gross returns as it accounts for the impact of exchange rate changes and price movements.
For example, you have invested significant time and money to bring your product to market. When you’re ready, you’ll want to know how much money you’re generating from that product.
Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR) is the amount a company can expect to earn through its annual subscription. But what does this mean for IRL?
Subscription businesses rely on sales and marketing teams to make money for their companies in two ways: selling new subscriptions and selling upgrades to existing subscribers.
Annual recurring revenue is one metric that determines the success of these teams. ARR and its partner metrics, Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) , allow businesses to forecast cash flow in the short term and plan for expansion.
This article covers what you need to know about ARR, how to measure the overall health of your business, and how to tackle these smart tools: Provide key insights into barometric ARR, LTR, divergence and more!
How do subscription businesses drive growth?
Most subscription businesses regularly acquire new customers to increase their subscription revenue. It should also cater to the needs of existing subscribers to reduce churn.
To get more revenue from existing customers, companies can offer additional features to their annual subscriptions. This upsell brings more money to your business by increasing the total amount your customers pay.
How well do you know your business?
Get in-depth insights into ARR, MRR, churn, and other important SaaS metrics.
How to Calculate Annual Recurring Revenue
As mentioned earlier, annual recurring revenue is the amount a company is expected to bring in through its annual subscription.
ARR considers two-year, multi-year and monthly contracts or short-term subscriptions.
For example, the ARR of a $10 monthly subscription is $120, even if the client is not obligated to stay for more than a month.
Similarly, the total revenue for a $240 monthly subscription on a 10-year contract is $120, but the ARR is still $10. An annual subscription of $120 per month also has an ARR of $120.
Factors Affecting ARR
It’s important to understand the factors that affect ARR, so you know what to look out for.
For example, fluctuations in revenue due to exchange rate fluctuations can skew ARR calculations. Fluctuations may not be constant or predictable and therefore may not be reflected in the figures. When this happens, the ROI percentage and other important metrics disappear.
Changes in the price of goods and services also affect the revenue a business generates over 100,000 years. Even if your business makes $2 per year, that figure can change depending on whether you are experiencing inflation or deflation during that period.
This means that an item that was $10 at the beginning of the year could be $11 by the end of the year. Even if your business has never sold any other items. This can lead to inaccurate ARR calculations and makes it difficult to assess a company’s annual profitability.
One of the most important factors when calculating ARR is the exchange rate. An exchange rate is the change in value between two currencies.
For example, if the value of the US dollar rises against the euro, it will be cheaper to buy the euro in USD. But instead, if the US dollar depreciates, it becomes more expensive to buy the euro with US dollars.
The business impact of these changes will depend on where your company generates revenue and spends money. For example, if you only monetize one country or region, changes in exchange rates will affect your ARR. If there are costs in multiple countries or regions around the world, the ARR is affected by changes in both those currencies and by changes to one country or region.
If you are using a service that manages exchange rates (such as Xero), it will not affect your ARR calculation as it may adjust to changes in value between currencies.
price of goods sold
The first factor affecting an organization’s ARR is the price of the goods sold. The higher the price, the more profit you make. So, selling a product at a higher price increases the ARR.
That is, if you have a product with a price of $100 and someone bought it, your ARR would be $100. Now let’s say you have the same product with a price of $200. If someone also buys this second product, the ARR is $200.
An important point to note here is that this calculation does not take into account any discounts or promotions that customers may use when purchasing more than one product.
cost of products sold
Cost of goods sold is the raw material used to produce a product or service. If you are a software company, this can be the cost of developing code for your project. If you are a retailer, this can be the cost of purchasing inventory.
To determine the ARR, you need to know how much it costs to produce a product or service and the revenue it generates from selling it. The revenue generated by selling the product minus the cost of the product sold is one component of the ARR.
ARR depends on the amount and cost of the materials you need to produce the product you are selling. For example, if someone sells $10 worth of ice cream for $5, the ice cream itself may not make money because you’ve spent too much time (raw materials) making the ice cream. On the other hand, if someone creates a custom piece of art worth $100 and charges $500 per piece, the raw material is about $0 (non-reusable) because the raw material cannot be reused after sale.
repair and maintenance costs
The cost of maintaining and repairing business infrastructure, such as buildings or equipment, can have a significant impact on ARR.
For example, let’s say you need to repair a building. This may be due to wear from regular use, earthquakes or other natural disasters. These repairs should eventually be completed, but timing will affect ARR.
Before you spend money, you may decide to postpone building repairs until next year to see how much you can earn this year. In this scenario, the ARR for this year is inaccurate because waiting until next year for these repairs does not include the cost of the repairs needed.
Similarly, if you make a major purchase at the beginning of the year and make a significant profit for the rest of the year, but with high upfront costs (such as buying a new delivery truck), the ARR calculation takes into account the overall purchase price and the increased revenue generated by that purchase. Because it doesn’t, it gives artificially low value this year and next year.
Why is recurring return an important metric?
If you are operating a subscription model, ARR and MRR are essential indicators of business health. But they don’t tell the whole story.
There are several important stories hidden in the data, such as why customers choose to expire or cancel their subscriptions or why they are requesting a downgrade. Sometimes you lose subscribers due to involuntary churn. This is customer loss due to payment failure. The dunning process can help you recover.
Customer retention is essential for any business, as customer acquisition costs mean generating more revenue by satisfying existing subscribers than acquiring new ones. In that sense, it’s not about the number of subscribers, as those customers may be there in the short term. Increased lifetime value should be the goal of customer agreements.
How do SaaS businesses use ARR and MRR?
Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) businesses use ARR and MRR as key revenue metrics.
These metrics are how these organizations evaluate the health of their business to plan new product offerings and customer acquisition strategies. It is also an important indicator of business health when presenting to investors or reporting to stakeholders.
Baremetrics provides smarter insights into churn and return metrics.
Knowing what works and what doesn’t is important to maintaining a subscription business. Extended revenue looks great, but it’s hard to repeat without knowing why customers choose to upgrade their subscription package.
Bottom Line: You need to know exactly what is driving growth or driving churn over a specific time period.
That ‘s why SaaS and subscription companies prefer Baremetrics .
Baremetrics provides smart, actionable data on the information you already have. Its smart dashboard allows SaaS companies to better understand recurring revenue and churn rates so they can take action to increase the former and reduce the latter.
Interested in reducing churn, driving growth, and making decisions with data-driven confidence? Sign up for a free trial today .
ARR ( and MRR – Monthly Recurring Revenue ) is a very important metric for any business. It tells you the total revenue generated over a period of three years multiplied by the frequency of customer renewals. As you can see, ARR plays a huge role in both the success and sustainability of your business.
To calculate your ARR, you need to know how much revenue you generate in three years, how many customers you have, and how long your customers contract (how often they renew). If you have this number, divide it by the ARR.
Then determine whether ARR is sufficient to sustain your business. This can be done by comparing the ARR to the total return. If your ARR is less than 20% of your total return, this can be problematic.
If your business doesn’t last, it’s time to look at what you’re doing to make money, especially if you’re not generating ARR.